Last Tango In Paris Butter Rape Scene Nonconsensual Sex

http://www.refinery29.com/2016/12/131807/last-tango-in-paris-butter-rape-scene

scene in which Brando’s character, Paul, rapes Schneider’s Jeanne, using a stick of butter as a lubricant, was planned without the actress’ knowledge or consent. According to the director, he and Brando came up with the idea without involving Schneider. 

“The sequence of the butter is an idea that I had with Marlon in the morning before shooting,” he said during an event at Paris’ La Cinémathèque Française. Bertolucci explained that he wanted her “reaction as a girl, not as an actress.” In other words, he wanted her to actually experience the rape. 

“I wanted her to react humiliated,” he continued. “I think she hated me and also Marlon, because we didn’t tell her…to obtain something, I think you have to be completely free. I didn’t want Maria to act her humiliation, her rage, I wanted her to Maria to feel…the rage and humiliation. Then, she hated me for all of her life.”

Though he offered that he felt bad about the decision “in a way,” he expressed no regret. 

In a 2006 interview, Schneider said she “cried real tears” during the scene. She also claimed that her co-star Brando complained of feeling “raped and manipulated” by Bertolucci, conveniently glossing over his role in Schneider’s sexual assault.
Thanks. God bless.

Aaron

Leave a comment