Nickel and Dimed in 2016: You Can’t Earn a Living on the Minimum Wage

http://www.truth-out.org/opinion/item/34845-nickel-and-dimed-in-2016-you-can-t-earn-a-living-on-the-minimum-wage

having worked at the State Department for 24 years, I had been booted out for being a whistleblower. I wasn’t sure what would happen to me next and so took a series of minimum wage jobs. Finding myself plunged into the low-wage economy was a sobering, even frightening, experience that made me realize just how ignorant I had been about the lives of the people who rang me up at stores or served me food in restaurants.

Thanks. God bless.

Aaron

Leave a Reply

